This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information | E-Numbers List


HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

 Halal    Not Halal    Mushbooh or Unknown    Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor    MCG Certified Halal

Have a Question? Please visit our new and improved Ask Questions Section.


E-Numbers List

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Halal StatusE-NumberNameDescriptionDate 1100 Amylase Enzyme Amylase enzyme is called in European Union as E-Number 1100 and it is Halal obtained from plant source or from fungi. 09/18/15 1101 Protease Enzyme Protease enzyme has E-Number 1101 which can by obtained from animal or plant. A Green Dot on the package of food product in India indicate it is from plant. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food product in USA/Canada containing protease enzyme indicates it is from plant source and Halal. 09/18/15 E- 319 Tert-Butylhydroquinone (TBHQ) TBHQ is not available in 100% form and it has to have a carrier for mixing purpose. If it has vegetable oil as a carrier then it is Halal. If it has animal based fat then it is not Halal may be Haram if pork fat is used. TBHQ is a chemical, in its 100% form without carrier it is Halal. 08/15/13 E-968 Erythritol Erythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation 07/16/15 E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color Halal only if they are 100% but in food industry they are not available 100% but made with fat based emulsifiers such as Polysorbate 80 09/28/05 E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color Halal if it is made from synthetic source otherwise need investigation for it source 09/28/05 E102 Tartazine Tartazine if obtained from natural source then it is soluble in water then it is Halal. If obtained from synthetic dye then it is Halal only if it mix with vegetable oil. 05/02/15 E103 Chrysoine Resocinol This is coloring E-Number but Halal only if the solvents are Halal. It is obtained from a plant. 09/28/05 E104 Quinoline Yellow Color It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used 09/28/05 E105 Fast Yellow AB It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used. It is forbidden in USA & Europe. 09/28/05 E107 Yellow 2G A color, it is a synthetic chemical dye obtained from coal tar and yellow Azo dye and it is soluble in water. 01/07/13 E110 Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S Color It is a chemical dye and it is Halal as dry powder. Only 2% of it is not soluble in water. 09/28/05 E1103 Invertase Enzyme Invertase is obtained from yeast and also synthesized by honey bees. Invertase breaks sucrose(table sugar) into glucose and frustose the simple sugar. 06/14/11 E1105 Lysozyme Enzyme It is an enzyme found in egg white. 01/07/13 E120 Cochineal / Carminic Acid Color Obtained from insects. All insects except Locust are Haram in Islam. 09/28/05 E1200 Polydextrose A starch based thickener, stabilizer, humectant. 06/14/11 E1201 Polyvinylpyrrolidone Water soluble polymer 06/14/11 E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color It is chemical dye and Halal if use as a powder. Liquid Color is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. It is used in fermented heated food products which may not be Halal. 09/28/05 E123 Amaranth Dye Color It is Dry form petroleum base. It is Halal if use as a powder dye. Liquid dye is Halal only if only Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05 E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Cochineal Red A is a Haram Color. Ponceau 4R is a synthetic color. It is Halal if used in dry form from Halal sources but liquid form is Halal if Halal solvents are used 09/28/05 E127 Erythrosine BS Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05 E128 Red 2G Colors It is a chemical dye, Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05 E129 Allura Red AC It is a red azo dye used for color in foods. Since it is soluble in water, both dry or liquid forms are Halal. 06/14/11 E131 Patent Blue V Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05 E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color It is used to be extracted from plant but now it is synthetically produced and It is Halal if synthetically produced from Halal sources. Liquid for requires solvent, liquid for is Halal only if Halal solvent are used. 09/28/05 E133 Brilliant Blue FCF Colors It is a chemical dye made from aromatic hydrocarbon from petroleum source. It is soluble in water so do not need any solvent. It is a Halal dye. 09/28/05 E140 Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol. 09/28/05 E1400 Dextrin It is a low molecular carbohysrate obtained through starch hydroloysis or through action of Amylase enzyme(Halal). It is used as a carrier in dry flavors, use in dry beverage mixes and soups. 06/14/11 E1401 Acid Treated Starch Starch is modified with an acid. 06/14/11 E1404 Oxidized Starch Starch oxidized with chemical 06/14/11 E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol. 09/28/05 E1410 Mono starch Phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11 E1412 Distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11 E1413 Phosphated sistarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11 E142 Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color This is a synthetic color soluble in water 09/28/05 E1420 Acetylated Starch Chemically modified starch 06/14/11 E1422 Acetylated distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11 E1442 Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11 E1450 Starch Sodium Octenyl Succinate Chemically modified starch with octenylsuccinate. 06/14/11 E1451 Acetylated Oxidized Starch Chemically modified starch 06/14/11 E150(a-d) Caramel Color/with chemicals Color 09/28/05 E1505 Trietyhl Citrate A ester of citric acid 06/14/11 E151 Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Color This is a synthetic color soluble in water 09/28/05 E1518 Glyceryl Triacetate, Triacetin A artficial chemical compond used as a solvent in flavors and also as humectant. 06/14/11 E1520 Propylene Glycol A petroleum based Halal humectant used as a solvent in food flavors. 06/14/11 E153 Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal) Color Obtained from Coal Tar 09/28/05 E154 Brown FK Colors It is synthetic Azo dye and soluble in water 09/28/05 E155 Brown HT Colors It is a synthetic coal tar diazo dye. It is Halal if used as powder. Liquid Brown HT is Halal only if the solvents are Halal. 09/28/05 E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Carotene Color - Carotene Carotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef. 09/28/05 E160b Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin Color - Annatto is a Halal color and it is used with water in liquid products. 09/28/05

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS


 Halal    Not Halal    Mushbooh or Unknown    Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor    MCG Certified Halal

MCG'S HALAL CERTIFICATION PROCEDURE:

Please fill out the application form from site or obtained through e-mail or fax.

Please click here for Certification Procedure

If your products pass the Halal requirements then signing the contract including number of inspection per year, record keeping, number of products to be Halal certified and service fees for Halal certification.

MCG'S HALAL REQUIREMENTS:

Raw material, processing aid ingredients, processing, sanitation chemicals and packaging should meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

MCG will not consider a natural or artificial flavor as Halal if ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent or carrier and if the flavoring ingredients are not from Halal source.


Click Here to visit our Canadian Halal Food Site.


© 2005 - 2016 Muslim Consumer Group. All Rights Reserved.
Site Developed by: LJ Web Management, Inc.