|Alternative names||Veggie dog, not dog|
|Place of origin||United States|
A vegetarian hot dog is a hot dog produced completely from non-meat products. Unlike traditional home-made meat sausages, the casing is not made of intestine, but of cellulose or other plant based ingredients. The filling is usually based on some sort of soy protein. Some contain egg whites, which would make them unsuitable for a vegan diet.
The history of the vegetarian hot dog is not clear, but Worthington Foods' Veja-Link meatless wieners claim to have been the world's first vegetarian hot dogs in 1949. On June 19, 2000, the Chicago White Sox made baseball history when they began selling vegetarian hot dogs during games at Comiskey Park. In recent years,[when?] a number of other manufacturers have entered the vegetarian hot dog market.
|This food-related article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.|