Vegetarian and non-vegetarian marks
The green dot symbol (left) identifies lacto-vegetarian food, and the brown dot symbol (right) identifies non-lacto-vegetarian food.
|Effective region||India / Sri Lanka|
|Product category||Packaged food products|
Packaged food products sold in India are required to be labelled with a mandatory mark in order to be distinguished between lacto-vegetarian and non-lacto-vegetarian. The symbol is in effect following the Food Safety and Standards (Packaging and Labelling) Act of 2006, and got a mandatory status after the framing of the respective regulations (Food Safety and Standards [Packaging and Labelling] Regulation) in 2011. According to the law, vegetarian food should be identified by a green symbol and non-vegetarian food with a brown symbol.
The fact that the symbols are identical in shape mean that a person with color blindness may not be able to distinguish them. It is recommended by some, to use a different shape in place of the brown dot.