This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Bell ringing days | Westminster Abbey

Skip to main content

  1. Home
  2. Events
  3. Bell ringing days

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.


Bell ringing calendar

September

Sunday, 15th September 2019
Anniversary of the Battle of Britain
Following the 11.00 am service

Saturday, 21st September 2019
St Matthew’s Day
following the 3.00 pm Evensong

Monday, 30th September 2019
St Michael and All Angels (transferred)
following the 5.00 pm Evensong

October

Monday, 7th October 2019
The Judges’ Service
Following the 11.00 am service

Sunday, 13th October 2019
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 15th October 2019
750th anniversary of the Dedication of Westminster Abbey
before and after the noon service

Friday, 18th October 2019
St Luke’s Day
Following the 5:00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 20th October 2019
Dedication of Westminster Abbey
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 20th October 2019
Evensong attended by The Lord Mayor of Westminster
following the 3.00 pm Evensong

November

Friday, 1st November 2019
All Saints’ Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Monday, 4th November 2019
All Souls’ Day (transferred)
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist, half-muffled

Sunday, 10th November 2019
Remembrance Sunday
after the service at the Cenotaph, half-muffled

Thursday, 14th November 2019
Birthday of HRH The Prince of Wales
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 17th November 2019
Foundation Day (Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth I, 1558)
From 12.30 pm

Wednesday, 20th November 2019
72nd Wedding Anniversary of HM The Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 30th November 2019
St Andrew’s Day
following the 3.00 pm

December

Wednesday, 25th December 2019
Christmas Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Friday, 27th December 2019
St John's Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

January

Wednesday, 1st January 2020
New Year’s Day
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 6th January 2020
The Epiphany of Our Lord
Following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Thursday, 9th January 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 25th January 2020
The Conversion of St Paul
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

February

Saturday, 1st February 2020
Eve of the Presentation of Christ in the Temple
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Thursday, 6th February 2020
Accession Day
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 19th February 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
from 1.00 pm

SHARE
Back to top

There really isn’t a more spectacular building to work on. It’s been one of the most gratifying and rewarding experiences of my life.

Kevin - Galleries Project Manager

Westminster Abbey is a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Useful links

Contact us

The Chapter Office
Westminster Abbey
20 Dean's Yard
London
SW1P 3PA +44(0)20 7222 5152 [email protected]

Follow us

Sign up to our newsletter

Subscribe

Designed by

Developed by

Tweet this