This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Amazon.com: Customer reviews: The Simpsons: Season 1

Try Prime EN   Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Orders Try Prime Cart Best Sellers Gift Ideas New Releases Whole Foods Today's Deals AmazonBasics Coupons Gift Cards Customer Service Free Shipping Shopper Toolkit Registry Sell

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars 779 customer ratings 5 star 76% 4 star 10% 3 star 5% 2 star 1% 1 star 8%

The Simpsons: Season 1

bySimpsons Format: DVDChange Price:$60.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime Write a review Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Top positive review

See all 686 positive reviews Jack Gandy 5.0 out of 5 starsLoved it. May 17, 2017 The first and in my opinion, best season of The Simpsons! The last episode is halarious. It's about Marge and Homer have a date night, and they hire a baby sitter who turns out to be a wanted criminal; featured on "America's Armed and Dangerous" tv show, and that's all I'll say. The kids and I, the dad, found ourselves quoting lines from the show literaly for weeks afterwards. That was years ago, but I still love that show.
As a Simpsons viewer today, you should grab this bit of tv history. It still holds up. Read more 5 people found this helpful

Top critical review

See all 93 critical reviews Jheez 1.0 out of 5 starsStreaming episodes are cropped 16:9 March 9, 2018 Great season and show (5 stars), but the Amazon streaming episodes are cropped to 16:9. We're missing large amounts of the frame. It looks awkward and awful. It cuts off jokes. Waste of money. Read more 36 people found this helpful
Search Sort by Top rated Filter by All reviewersAll starsAll formatsText, image, video Showing 1-10 of 779 reviews

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Jheez 1.0 out of 5 starsStreaming episodes are cropped 16:9 March 9, 2018Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase Great season and show (5 stars), but the Amazon streaming episodes are cropped to 16:9. We're missing large amounts of the frame. It looks awkward and awful. It cuts off jokes. Waste of money. 36 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Mark Scovil 1.0 out of 5 starsAmazon has butchered the original standard def episodes from the early seasons by cropping the original frame March 21, 2018Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase I love the early Simpson's episodes. Amazon video has committed an atrocity by cropping these from the original 4x3 standard def to the wide screen ratio. They cut off the top and bottom of the original frame, and now the show doesn't look right. I bought the DVDs which are in the proper original format. In addition, the quality is very poor. Standard def never looked this bad in the old days. The streaming video is unwatchable as far as I'm concerned. 30 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


BSavage 1.0 out of 5 starsDO NOT BUY... Streaming digital is awful, cropped to widescreen. Missing part of the image August 7, 2018Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase Streaming digital versions of the simpsons is cropped for widescreen in SD or HD it does not matter what you pick. Don't buy this. Get the old DVD box sets. This is cropped. And Fox refuses to fix it. DO NOT BUY. 20 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


AlmightyBob 1.0 out of 5 starsDon't let the preview images fool you, it's cropped ... December 13, 2017Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase Don't let the preview images fool you, it's cropped to 16:9 so it's missing the top and bottom of the frame 25 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Mr. C 1.0 out of 5 starsButchered October 6, 2018Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase They cropped to make it fill a 16:9 screen. 12 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Jack Gandy 5.0 out of 5 starsLoved it. May 17, 2017Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase The first and in my opinion, best season of The Simpsons! The last episode is halarious. It's about Marge and Homer have a date night, and they hire a baby sitter who turns out to be a wanted criminal; featured on "America's Armed and Dangerous" tv show, and that's all I'll say. The kids and I, the dad, found ourselves quoting lines from the show literaly for weeks afterwards. That was years ago, but I still love that show.
As a Simpsons viewer today, you should grab this bit of tv history. It still holds up. 5 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Deputy-_-M_A_X___P_O_W_E_R 5.0 out of 5 starsThe season that started it all! January 9, 2014Format: DVDVerified Purchase The Simpsons.... This show can arguably be considered the best show ever on TV! Been around since 1989 and still going strong! Starting out as short clips on the Tracy Ullman Show, The Simpsons are now one of the most popular and recognizable shows throughout the world! And this is the season that started it all.

This season contains 13 amazing and memorable episodes that won an Emmy award and had 4 additional nominations. Some of my personal favs that stick out is "Bart the General" where Bart is bullied at school every day and is tired of it and rallies other school kids that are bullied as well fight back with an army like strategy water balloon attacks. "The Telltale Head" Where Bart vandalizes a town statue by decapitating it and causing the town to form an angry mob as Bart and Homer try to figure out how to get out of that mess. Also who can forget the very first episode "Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire" the first Christmas with the Simpsons and all of the bonus money for X-mas is spent to remove a tattoo that Bart decided to get. Looking like there was not going to be a Christmas that year, instead they add a great addition to the Simpson family with Santa's Little Helper. This season is a great addition to any Simpson fan!

Some of the special features include outtakes, early sketches and magazine covers. BBC Special: America's First Family, and Commentary on the episodes. The commentaries are great features for the hardcore fans and are a lot of fun to check out even if you're not a big fan. Overall this is a great season to get if you are deciding to just get one(or one for now.) This really won't matter if you decide to get them all like a hardcore fan(like myself, and proud of it!) I hope you enjoy the 1st of many seasons of The Simpsons! 4 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Nasagi 5.0 out of 5 starsSimply Nostalgic March 14, 2016Format: Prime VideoVerified Purchase Nothing can compare to the first season, the Simpsons first Christmas, I remember watching this as a kid and the humor and the show grew with me as I was nine when the show went prime time. So the timing was perfect. I quit watching the show in the early 2000's and I love the nostalgic early seasons when it was just a simple cartoon without all the politics. The humor was great, the drawings were less refined, the situations were at times relatable, the family roles and unity were there, your average working slightly lower middle class :) family getting through the week. Oh and the Halloween specials were always worth the year long wait. 2 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Markone 4.0 out of 5 starsA piece of History indeed... April 16, 2014Format: DVDVerified Purchase The first season of THE SIMPSONS is always a treat to see in repeated viewings. Every single one of the 13 original first season episodes is a classic. It is great to see how raw and bold the creators were when the series premiered in 1989. As most know the set included the famous first Simpson's Christmas episode that once I saw it for the first time I felt that there was something really special about this family. I would have loved to have seen the original 48 one minute shorts from the TRACY ULLMAN SHOW where the Simpsons got there start included in this set but hopefully those will be released sometime in the future. I wouldn't mind seeing them in their own special set or as part of the ULLMAN show as a series issued on its own. We can only hope that whatever the reasons for these shorts not being released will be sorted out in the near future. But regardless, every fan of great episodic televison and THE SIMPSONS should own this set. One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Daniel Jolley HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE 5.0 out of 5 starsRelive the magic of The Simpsons' first season - with extras November 26, 2004Format: DVDVerified Purchase I was one of those fans who watched The Simpsons from the very start; back in those days, even at college, all we had were rabbit ears to pick up the less than clear local Fox station - some folks back then, in 1989, still did not even have a local Fox station. Things have changed a whole lot since the thirteen-episode first season of this classic comedy, but in many ways The Simpsons has not. As I write this, the show's still going strong and building upon the work done all those years ago. While there was a bit of experimentation back in the early days, the characters emerged fully formed from the very first show. It's quite a treat to be able to watch these first thirteen episodes in order again and to reflect back upon the controversy and instant impact this animated show immediately made on popular culture.

I was amazed at how vibrant and familiar these first shows seemed; it seems like only yesterday that I was introduced to Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, Maggie, and all the denizens of Springfield. Every episode here is a classic. Watching There's No Disgrace Like Home, the third episode, I was unexpectedly taken back to the very beginning of Simpsons mania as I watched the Simpsons repeatedly administer shocks to themselves to the consternation of family therapist Marvin Monroe. And who could forget the terrible ordeal Bart endured at the hands of two French cretins (or little Adil Hoxha, foreign exchange student from Albania - a legend in the lore of Simpsons trivia) in The Crepes of Wrath. In terms of pure hilarity, look no farther than Homer's Night Out, in which Homer becomes the swingingest swinger in town and elicits a plea for help in the ladies' department from none other than Mr. Skinner himself. The first memorable guest performers also lended their special magic to the show early on: Penny Marshall as the baby-sitting bandit in Some Enchanted Evening, Kelsey Grammer as Sideshow Bob in Krusty Gets Busted, and Albert Brooks as the RV salesman in Call of the Simpsons and Jacque, Marge's French admirer and bowling instructor in Life On the Fast Lane. I could write a paragraph about every single episode, as each one is a classic.

The commentary for each episode is fabulous, as a whole gaggle of the geniuses who brought the show to life come together to laugh at the best bits, talk about the show's genesis and evolution during this experimental first season, and provide fans with all kinds of trivia and juicy tidbits about the whole Simpsons phenomenon. You can clearly see the show develop with each passing episode, particularly in terms of the level of detail in the animation and, to some degree, the voices. With the help of the commentaries, you get a whole new perspective on Homer and the gang. One can't help but be impressed by the way each character was developed early on, the chemistry that quickly emerged between all the characters, and the way in which serious issues were explored in such a comedic manner. Gosh, you had Marge and Homer's marriage on the rocks in a couple of episodes, Bart's deportation to France for his excessive shenanigans at school, the capture of Bart and Lisa by a wanted criminal, the framing and imprisonment of Krusty, the problem of illiteracy, etc. This show really had it all, right from the very start.

I don't know why I waited so long to add The Simpsons Season One to my DVD collection, but I can't wait to get all of the seasons on DVD. After 15+ years, it's easy to take this show for granted, but this Season One DVD with all of its extras has reawakened my old passion for this incredible television show. Speaking of extras, you get a look here at the first animated version of the show, and it's just as horrible as Matt Groening and the other Simpsons bigwigs said it was. You have to see it to believe it. After seeing that, you realize more than ever how lucky we are to have The Simpsons in our lives. 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.



Customers also viewed these items

The Simpsons: Season 2 bySimpsons $57.54 4.7 out of 5 stars422 The Simpsons: Season 4 byJon Lovitz $49.42 4.6 out of 5 stars338 The Simpsons - The Complete Fifth Season collector's ed [DVD] [1993] byDan Castellaneta $43.17 4.7 out of 5 stars326 The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] byNancy Cartwright (Voice) $10.85 4.4 out of 5 stars529 The Simpsons: Season 9 byThe Simpsons $59.95 4.7 out of 5 stars199
Need customer service? Click hereSee all details for The Simpsons: Season 1

There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime.

Get fast, free delivery with Amazon Prime Prime members enjoy FREE Two-Day Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. > Get started Back to top Get to Know Us Make Money with Us Amazon Payment Products Let Us Help You
    EnglishChoose a language for shopping. United StatesChoose a country/region for shopping.
      Amazon Music
      Stream millions
      of songs
      Amazon Advertising
      Find, attract, and
      engage customers
      Amazon Drive
      Cloud storage
      from Amazon
      6pm
      Score deals
      on fashion brands
      AbeBooks
      Books, art
      & collectibles
      ACX
      Audiobook Publishing
      Made Easy
      Alexa
      Actionable Analytics
      for the Web
      Sell on Amazon
      Start a Selling Account
      Amazon Business
      Everything For
      Your Business
      AmazonFresh
      Groceries & More
      Right To Your Door
      AmazonGlobal
      Ship Orders
      Internationally
      Home Services
      Handpicked Pros
      Happiness Guarantee
      Amazon Inspire
      Digital Educational
      Resources
      Amazon Rapids
      Fun stories for
      kids on the go
      Amazon Web Services
      Scalable Cloud
      Computing Services
      Audible
      Listen to Books & Original
      Audio Performances
      Book Depository
      Books With Free
      Delivery Worldwide
      Box Office Mojo
      Find Movie
      Box Office Data
      ComiXology
      Thousands of
      Digital Comics
      CreateSpace
      Indie Print Publishing
      Made Easy
      DPReview
      Digital
      Photography
      East Dane
      Designer Men's
      Fashion
      Fabric
      Sewing, Quilting
      & Knitting
      Goodreads
      Book reviews
      & recommendations
      IMDb
      Movies, TV
      & Celebrities
      IMDbPro
      Get Info Entertainment
      Professionals Need
      Kindle Direct Publishing
      Indie Digital Publishing
      Made Easy
      Prime Now
      FREE 2-hour Delivery
      on Everyday Items
      Amazon Photos
      Unlimited Photo Storage
      Free With Prime
      Prime Video Direct
      Video Distribution
      Made Easy
      Shopbop
      Designer
      Fashion Brands
      Amazon Warehouse
      Great Deals on
      Quality Used Products
      Whole Foods Market
      America’s Healthiest
      Grocery Store
      Woot!
      Deals and
      Shenanigans
      Zappos
      Shoes &
      Clothing
      Ring
      Smart Home
      Security Systems
      eero WiFi
      Stream 4K Video
      in Every Room
      Neighbors App
      Real-Time Crime
      & Safety Alerts
      Subscribe with Amazon
      Discover & try
      subscription services
      PillPack
      Pharmacy Simplified
      Amazon Renewed
      Like-new products
      you can trust
      Amazon Second Chance
      Pass it on, trade it in,
      give it a second life