This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Amazon.com: Customer reviews: The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

Try Prime EN   Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Orders Try Prime Cart Best Sellers Gift Ideas New Releases Whole Foods Today's Deals AmazonBasics Coupons Gift Cards Customer Service Free Shipping Shopper Toolkit Registry Sell

Customer reviews

200 customer ratings199 customer reviews 4.7 out of 5 stars 5 star 77% 4 star 14% 3 star 7% 2 star 1% 1 star 1%

The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

byDan Castellaneta Format: DVDChange Write a review See All Buying Options
Add to Wish List

Top positive review

See all 180 positive reviews elizabeth nolan 5.0 out of 5 starsI never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes February 28, 2017 I see every season after season 8 separate, mainly because I have the guide with the first eight seasons. There's been a lot of talk about declining quality with the Simpsons but up until this current season, season 28, I never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes. Homer and the family go to New York city to retrieve the car and everything goes wrong (at least for Homer), Lisa and bart are chosen to be on a news show (and Homer wants a duck for his monkey), we hear how Lisa got her sax (and about the funky grampa), Homer wages a war with the garbage men (and rattles a few bird cages) and Marge and Homer try to rekindle their sex life (and rock the casbah in the craziest of ways). Once again, we have another great season of the Simpsons. Read more 3 people found this helpful

Top critical review

See all 19 critical reviews Ben 3.0 out of 5 starsOkay December 26, 2018 All of the discs had areas where the content skipped on occasion. "Simpson Tide" on Disc 3 was most impacted, as roughly half of the episode was unable to play. The majority of the content on the set was fine, though. Read more
Search Sort by Top rated Filter by All reviewersAll starsAll formatsText, image, video Showing 1-10 of 199 reviews

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

elizabeth nolan 5.0 out of 5 starsI never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes February 28, 2017Format: DVDVerified Purchase I see every season after season 8 separate, mainly because I have the guide with the first eight seasons. There's been a lot of talk about declining quality with the Simpsons but up until this current season, season 28, I never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes. Homer and the family go to New York city to retrieve the car and everything goes wrong (at least for Homer), Lisa and bart are chosen to be on a news show (and Homer wants a duck for his monkey), we hear how Lisa got her sax (and about the funky grampa), Homer wages a war with the garbage men (and rattles a few bird cages) and Marge and Homer try to rekindle their sex life (and rock the casbah in the craziest of ways). Once again, we have another great season of the Simpsons. 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Ryan 5.0 out of 5 starsUnderappreciated July 25, 2016Format: DVDVerified Purchase Amazing Season of the Simpsons. I looked at a lot of Top 10 seasons lists and this season was unfairly at the bottom of the list or not even on it in some cases. It has some really amazing episodes like "Trash of the Titans", "The Cartridge Family", "Lisa the Simpson", "Girly Edition", "Mountain of Madness", "Lost our Lisa", "NYC vs. Homer", "The Joy of Sect", "Simpson Tide" and debut of the Canyonero. This season has some of my favorite episodes of the entire series. 2 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


mrliteral 5.0 out of 5 starsAnother box o'fun April 10, 2008Format: DVDVerified Purchase It'd be easy enough to praise the boxed set of The Simpsons - Season Nine if there were just the episodes themselves to consider. But as with previous seasons, there is a lot more to enjoy.

Let's start with the box itself: each of the four discs look like a mock LP, with such names as Cowabunga Records and Atomic Records (with three-eyed fish logo). Then there are the six postcards, each with different art, including parodies of the album covers for Abbey Road and Nevermind. The music theme continues in the program booklet which includes ads for a Disco Stu CD and King Toot's Music Store.

Then there are the episodes. I won't review them all, but a few of note include the season premiere episode, "The City of New York vs. Homer Simpson" which pokes fun at the Big Apple; this episode would be temporarily put out of circulation after 9/11 due to its depiction of the World Trade Center. In "Lisa's Sax", we learn how Lisa got her sax and Bart got his attitude. In "The Joy of Sect", the family joins a UFO cult. "Girly Edition" satirizes TV news when Bart's shallow human interest stories trump Lisa's fact-filled news. "Trash of the Titans" (the 200th episode) features Steve Martin and U2 and has Homer becoming Sanitation Commissioner; other guest stars this season include Jay Leno, Brendan Fraser, Martin Sheen, Joe Namath, Jim Varney, Helen Hunt, Bob Denver, Alex Trebek and Phil Hartman.

There's a reason that the Simpsons have lasted nearly 20 years, namely because it's so well-written. Even the so-so episodes are better than most comedies at their best. But this season has all good-to-great episodes, each with commentary. There are also plenty of deleted scenes and a few other extras. If you're a Simpsons fan, this set is a delight that you must own. 4 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Bryan J. Peterson 5.0 out of 5 starsNo pizza. Only khlav kalash. June 8, 2009Format: DVDVerified Purchase Season 9 is, as far as I'm concerned, the second to last truly great season. After season 10 it started to go downhill, and while I probably will buy seasons 11 and 12 I probably won't go farther than that. Season 9, however, features one of my all-time favorite episodes, The City of New York VS. Homer Simpson, an episode which was temporarily pulled from sindication following 9/11 and heavily edited even when it returned to TV. Other favorites include Simpson Tide, although that could actually be a seaon 8 episode, and King of the Hill, where Homer is asked by the makers of the Power Sauce bar to climb Springfield's highest mountain, the Murderhorn. We also have such greats as Girly Edition, where Lisa attempts to start a children's news program only to get sidelined by Bart, who starts a popular segment called Bart's People, all while Homer buys and horribly overfeeds a helper monkey named Mojo. All in all, Season 9 features just as many laughs as the previous ones. 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


AL Swerengen 5.0 out of 5 starsA great addition for your Simpsons series collection: Season 9 September 14, 2017Format: DVDVerified Purchase I must say, it's been awhile since this DVD was released, several or more years ago, but by today's standards with blu-ray and HD releases, some DVDs still don't disappoint. This dvd packaging of the simpsons comes with four discs in locked tight plastic flips, with included booklet of each episode listing. Plus collectable funny post cards featuring creative images that are spoofs of famous bands. Great packaging, excellent service.
Thank you for fulfilling a fan's longing need for Simpsons "Golden Years" nostalgia with this Season 9 DVD edition. After this, the series goes down hill from there. Two thumbs up high! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


M. Overly 5.0 out of 5 starsAnother wonderful edition to your collection of Simpson season dvds! August 23, 2009Format: DVDVerified Purchase I don't really have much to say because this season speaks volumes on it's own. If you have made it this far with your collection of Simpsons dvds you already know what you are getting...great, quality entertainment without the commercials and other fillers you would have to deal with trying to watch it on regular TV. For me, this will be my last dvd for The Simpsons (I have seasons 1-9) because I feel like the quality starts to slowly go downhill from season 10 on out. Even though this will be my last, it's a great dvd to end with. Most of what I could say has already been reviewed by others but if you like U2, meeting Homer's side of the family (learning about "The Simpson gene" that affects the male Simpsons), the kids being washed ashore on a deserted island (aka. The Lord of the Flies spin-off), and other well thought out masterpieces then this is the dvd for you! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


takethekman 5.0 out of 5 starsAlmost Every One A Keeper January 25, 2007Format: DVDVerified Purchase It's funny; When I read some of the plotlines for some episodes, I'm not really sure I want to watch that one. Then I do, and remember all the little jokes I had long forgotten. The one w/Steve Martin and U2(Trash of the Titans)is my paticular favorite, but there are many standout episodes from Homer the football coach, with a nice appearence from Hank Hill and Family('We drove 3000 miles for this?'), to the true identity of Seymour Skinner. Apu's wedding was quite amusing, esp. w/Jan Hooks and Andrea Martin providing some support. The story of Lisa's sax has a great 'All in the Family' homage at the beginning, and Krusty's 'new comedy' has many classic moments. In short, Simpsons fans will not be disappointed. Plus it includes some nice 'postcards' inside the box that are kinda cool. One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Elizabeth Bradshaw 4.0 out of 5 starsLike the product. Not the delivery process July 12, 2013Format: DVDVerified Purchase The dvd came in great condition. Works great so far. This dvd set is a must have for all Simpson's fans. Wasn't crazy about the delivery process. I got this from DVD Bargin Buy. Tracking was not updated regularly. Also, the package was a day late. Wasn't given any notice that it would be late. Contacted the seller, and they provided no real answers to my questions. The process of getting my package was annoying, but the actual product itself is great! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Zippo 5.0 out of 5 starsStill funny, but... February 26, 2007Format: DVDVerified Purchase Personally, I belive season 8 is the breaking point. Season 7 still has the funny-yet-belivable mix that made the Simpsons so great. Season 8 has some moments, but this one, in my opinion, just doesn't. It is still really really funny, but without the ocasional warm "real" moment, it's just not the same; there's a lack of "depth" to the epiodes.

The price for the set is great, the extras are good, and if you like the Simpsons, you are going to want to see them like this, without interruptions for comercials etc. (Also, if you live outside of the US, you can't always get them with the original voices, and subtitled, making the DVDs the ONLY way to enjoy the jokes lost in translation...One small detail, though, the spanish subtitles have been getting worse since DVD season 7. Not one song is subtitled!! and they do sing a lot, sometimes the subtitle is out of synch with the voice!!, and every little sign in the background is subtitled - even if it is completly unimportant, not part of the story or a joke, just background!!) 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Ben 3.0 out of 5 starsOkay December 26, 2018Format: DVDVerified Purchase All of the discs had areas where the content skipped on occasion. "Simpson Tide" on Disc 3 was most impacted, as roughly half of the episode was unable to play. The majority of the content on the set was fine, though. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.



Customers also viewed these items

The Simpsons - The Complete Eighth Season byDan Castellaneta 4.6 out of 5 stars248 The Simpsons: Season 1 byRon Taylor $60.99 4.4 out of 5 stars779 The Simpsons: Season 10 Collector's Edition (2007) byDan Castellaneta 4.7 out of 5 stars205 The Simpsons - The Complete Fifth Season collector's ed [DVD] [1993] byDan Castellaneta $51.75 4.7 out of 5 stars326 The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] byNancy Cartwright (Voice) 4.4 out of 5 stars529
Need customer service? Click hereSee all details for The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime.

Get fast, free delivery with Amazon Prime Prime members enjoy FREE Two-Day Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. > Get started Back to top Get to Know Us Make Money with Us Amazon Payment Products Let Us Help You
    EnglishChoose a language for shopping. United StatesChoose a country/region for shopping.
      Amazon Music
      Stream millions
      of songs
      Amazon Advertising
      Find, attract, and
      engage customers
      Amazon Drive
      Cloud storage
      from Amazon
      6pm
      Score deals
      on fashion brands
      AbeBooks
      Books, art
      & collectibles
      ACX
      Audiobook Publishing
      Made Easy
      Alexa
      Actionable Analytics
      for the Web
      Sell on Amazon
      Start a Selling Account
      Amazon Business
      Everything For
      Your Business
      AmazonFresh
      Groceries & More
      Right To Your Door
      AmazonGlobal
      Ship Orders
      Internationally
      Home Services
      Handpicked Pros
      Happiness Guarantee
      Amazon Inspire
      Digital Educational
      Resources
      Amazon Rapids
      Fun stories for
      kids on the go
      Amazon Web Services
      Scalable Cloud
      Computing Services
      Audible
      Listen to Books & Original
      Audio Performances
      Book Depository
      Books With Free
      Delivery Worldwide
      Box Office Mojo
      Find Movie
      Box Office Data
      ComiXology
      Thousands of
      Digital Comics
      CreateSpace
      Indie Print Publishing
      Made Easy
      DPReview
      Digital
      Photography
      East Dane
      Designer Men's
      Fashion
      Fabric
      Sewing, Quilting
      & Knitting
      Goodreads
      Book reviews
      & recommendations
      IMDb
      Movies, TV
      & Celebrities
      IMDbPro
      Get Info Entertainment
      Professionals Need
      Kindle Direct Publishing
      Indie Digital Publishing
      Made Easy
      Prime Now
      FREE 2-hour Delivery
      on Everyday Items
      Amazon Photos
      Unlimited Photo Storage
      Free With Prime
      Prime Video Direct
      Video Distribution
      Made Easy
      Shopbop
      Designer
      Fashion Brands
      Amazon Warehouse
      Great Deals on
      Quality Used Products
      Whole Foods Market
      America’s Healthiest
      Grocery Store
      Woot!
      Deals and
      Shenanigans
      Zappos
      Shoes &
      Clothing
      Ring
      Smart Home
      Security Systems
      eero WiFi
      Stream 4K Video
      in Every Room
      Neighbors App
      Real-Time Crime
      & Safety Alerts
      Subscribe with Amazon
      Discover & try
      subscription services
      PillPack
      Pharmacy Simplified
      Amazon Renewed
      Like-new products
      you can trust
      Amazon Second Chance
      Pass it on, trade it in,
      give it a second life