This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Amazon.com: Customer reviews: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD]

Try Prime EN   Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Orders Try Prime Cart Best Sellers Gift Ideas New Releases Whole Foods Today's Deals AmazonBasics Coupons Gift Cards Customer Service Free Shipping Shopper Toolkit Registry Sell

Customer reviews

530 customer ratings529 customer reviews 4.4 out of 5 stars 5 star 71% 4 star 11% 3 star 5% 2 star 3% 1 star 10%

The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD]

byNancy Cartwright (Voice) Format: DVDChange Write a review See All Buying Options
Add to Wish List

Top positive review

See all 433 positive reviews Kac 5.0 out of 5 starsAwesome classic Simpsons June 28, 2017 Not one minute of this.season is not completely hilarious I loved as a kid and I love it now and I'm passing the love to my kid too. Because the Simpson's are awesome and people shouldnt forget that the first animated adult series to really make it since Flintstones or jetsons but the Simpson's are a real family who.sticks together and solve their problems no matter how.imperfect they all may be set the standard for all adult comedies after it long of the hill futurama family guy especially etc etc we wouldn't have any of those shows I believe without the Simpson's it may not be as funny now but season six is a classic season no.one with a great sense of humor should miss Read more 3 people found this helpful

Top critical review

See all 96 critical reviews Zachary Piper 1.0 out of 5 starsDoesn't work for Blu-ray or Xbox August 17, 2019 If you have a regular dvd player this may run on it, but it won't run on Xbox or blu-ray player that I have. The discs weren't compatible. Also, the plastic sheets that held the disc's in place were broken and cracked. Would not recommend this product. Read more
Search Sort by Top rated Filter by All reviewersAll starsAll formatsText, image, video Showing 1-10 of 529 reviews

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Kac 5.0 out of 5 starsAwesome classic Simpsons June 28, 2017Format: DVDVerified Purchase Not one minute of this.season is not completely hilarious I loved as a kid and I love it now and I'm passing the love to my kid too. Because the Simpson's are awesome and people shouldnt forget that the first animated adult series to really make it since Flintstones or jetsons but the Simpson's are a real family who.sticks together and solve their problems no matter how.imperfect they all may be set the standard for all adult comedies after it long of the hill futurama family guy especially etc etc we wouldn't have any of those shows I believe without the Simpson's it may not be as funny now but season six is a classic season no.one with a great sense of humor should miss 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Avid Reader 5.0 out of 5 starsSo much better than I ever thought August 19, 2017Format: DVDVerified Purchase As usual, I am late to the party and did not appreciate The Simpsons when they first came on. I don't know what possessed me to buy this but I am very happy with the purchase. Just listening to the audio alone gave me a tremendous sense of appreciation of the all the performers - and, of course, the fabulous writing. Very, very happy I bought this. 3 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Beantown Jim 5.0 out of 5 starsOne of the better years in the eon of the Simpsons empire... December 4, 2014Format: DVDVerified Purchase For Simpson fans, any season is great to have for those rare moments when the Simpsons aren't on cable. As seasons go, the 6th season is one of the best. Like any series, the Simpsons took a long time to get 'unspooled'. The early seasons didn't even look or sound like the classic Simpsons that we all now know. By the 6th season, we had the drawings and voiceovers that we now know.
As to the actual shows in this volume, there were:
Itchy & Scratchy Land', 'Treehouse of Horror V', Time and Punishment, Nightmare Cafeteria, plus
'Bart's Girlfriend' 'Homer the Great', 'Lisa's Wedding' ,'Two Dozen and One Greyhounds' ,'The PTA Disbands' and so on.
Itchy&Scratchy land was a paean to all amusement parks but particularly the one which was well known to thousands of northeasterners. It was infamous for selling tokens to kids which were useless outside the park and even inside the park for anything.
Treehouse of Horror was of course the usual Halloween episode and, as with all seasons, it was the one episode exercising freedom, with adult plots after they gave a warning to viewers. This episode is as if the Twilight Zone from years ago actually had a sense of humor.
Homer the Great was a parody of the Masons with secret society rites, etc. Patrick Stewart(Star Trek-NextGen) was brilliant as the guest voice for the nominal leader of the secret society who has to put up with Homer's 'idiosyncracies'. It was the 2nd best episode in this season and was a brilliant spoof of memberships and clubs in general. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Deputy-_-M_A_X___P_O_W_E_R 5.0 out of 5 starsWho shot Mr. Burns!?..... If you still don't know, buy season 7! (This one too!) January 10, 2014Format: DVDVerified Purchase 25 episodes in this set Including the finale of "Who Shot Mr. Burns?: Part 1" along with other great classic episodes. This season won a Primetime Emmy Award and received three additional nominations. It also won the Annie Award for Best Animated Television Production. This season doesn't have as many celebrity guests as previous seasons, but they still have a few such as Mel Brooks, The return of Kelsey Grammer as Sideshow Bob, Larry King, Susan Sarandon, Patrick Stewart, Meryl Streep, Winona Ryder, and a few others. There are no new additions to the Simpsons cast, yet there is a subtraction in the death of Bleeding Gums Murphy in a heartfelt episode "Round Springfield"

Other notable episodes include "Two Dozen and One Greyhounds" Santa's Little Helper knocks up a racing greyhound resulting in 25 puppies! The pups however, don't want to be split up so finding them a home is hard until Mr. Burns opens his home. Bart and Lisa have their suspisions about Mr. Burns which turns out to be true. "Homer The Great" Homer tries to join a secret club called the Stonecutters that are living the good life. Turns out that Homer has a birthmark that is said to be the mark of a Prophet and it makes Homer the leader of the Stonecutters, but Homer ends up ruining it. "Lisa's Wedding" They had quite a bit of episodes that were blasts from the past in previous seasons, there is also one in this season 'And Maggie Makes Three' however this is the first one that shows the future. Lisa meets a British student and falls in love. They eventually get ingaged and set a date. However, even though Lisa is embarrassed by her family, she calls off the wedding since she will not choose between her family and her fiancee. The biggest Episode "Who Shot Mr. Burns?: Part 1" has the whole town as a suspect after Mr. Burns burns (no pun intended) practically all of the Springfield residents is left as the cliffhanger.

Special features include commentary on all the episodes as well as illistrated commentaries and 58 deleted scenes. Sketch Gallery "Who Shot Mr Burns" Suspect Profiles, TV special "Springfield's Most Wanted", Animatics, The Simpsons Plane featurette, and introductions from Matt Groening and James L. Brooks. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Tannah B 5.0 out of 5 starsSimpson's Still Got It. August 25, 2015Format: DVDVerified Purchase The Simpsons: Season 6 definitely makes you feel like you are back in the 90's again! This season contains 25 episodes with the hysterical animated family consisting of Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa and Maggie! From a hot summer with a broken leg to the mystery of who shot Mr. Burns the laughs will not stop! With many memorable episodes that so many 90's kids and adults will remember, you won't want to stop watching. This collection also contains commentaries on the episodes, deleted scenes, and other bonus material any Simpson's fan will love and appreciate! This is a 4 disc set which compared to other tv to dvd shows is super convenient and easy to put away! In my opinion this is one of the best seasons ever released and needs to be in everyone's dvd collection!! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Bryan J. Peterson 5.0 out of 5 starsYet another great season. March 28, 2009Format: DVDVerified Purchase I ordered this season along with seasons seven and eight, and while I had to reorder season eight because it contained two copies of the same disk, the other two were as they should be. So, incidentally, was the new copy of season eight once I reordered it. But I'll discuss the rest of those seasons in separate reviews since I actually came here to discuss the sixth season. This season is so far the only one I've received in the head-shaped packaging. After reading all the negative reviews where sometimes four stars were subtracted based on the package alone, I'll grant that I was nervous about buying them. But I was pleasantly surprised when I received it. The package was easy to open and yet closed securely and didn't fall apart. Nor did the disks, which are in a handy plastic holder with sections for each disk rather like pages in a photo album, fall out. And because I generally stack my DVD's on my entertainment center, the fact that the package doesn't stand welll on its side didn't matter.
So now that the packaging is out of the way let's get on to the season itself. Season six features some of my favorite episodes, not the least being Treehouse of Horror V, which features three of my favorite sketches. The Shinning, wherein homer goes crazy from lack of TV and beer and attempts to murder his family with an axe, Time and Punishment, which parodies the butterfly effect and the Ray Bradbury shortstory A Sound of Thunder, and Nightmare Cafeteria, wherein Bart and Lisa make a horrifying discovery at school. There's also Homer the Great, where Homer inadvertently becomes the leader of a secet society of beer-swilling good timers while being kicked out of said society for despoiling the sacred parchment. This episode features the ever so catchy Stonecutters theme song, which is one of my favorite Simpsons songs after Baby on Board. Other notables are Bart of Darkness, Lisa's Rival, and of course we can't forget the cliffhanger beginning to one of the most talked-about Simpsons episodes, part one of Who Shot Mr. Burns? If I'm not mistaken this aired not long before the famous King of the Hill cliffhanger when America spent all that spring and summer wondering who would survive the big Propane explosion at the end of season 2.
Aside from the episodes themselves, there is still of course the insightful and often hillarious audio commentary on each episode. And yes folks, these are probably the only features that are likely to matter to a blind Simpsons fan like myself. There are of course also deleted scenes and things like that, making this a set any Simpsons fan should have. One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


SimpsonFan 5.0 out of 5 starsSEASON SIX DVD OVERVIEW August 31, 2014Format: DVDVerified Purchase The Simpsons Season 6 on DVD includes:

Disc 1:
-Bart of Darkness
-Lisa's Rival
-Another Simpsons Clip Show
-Itchy & Scratchy Land
-Sideshow Bob Roberts
-Treehouse of Horror V
-Bart's Girlfriend

Disc 2:

-Lisa on Ice
-Homer Badman
-Grampa vs. Sexual Inadequacy
-Fear of Flying
-Homer the Great
-And Maggie Makes Three
-Bart's Comet

Disc 3:

-Homie the Clown
-Bart vs. Australia
-Homer vs. Patty & Selma
-A Star Is Burns
-Lisa's Wedding
-Two Dozen and One Greyhounds
-The PTA Disbands!

Disc 4:

-'Round Springfield
-The Springfield Connection
-Lemon of Troy
-Who Shot Mr. Burns?(Part One)

Special Features:
Four Disc Set contains the Complete Sixth Season with all 25 episodes
Special introduction by Matt Groening
Audio commentaries on every episode with creator Matt Groening and executive producers James L. Brooks, David Mirkin, Al Jean and Mike Reiss, joined by writers actors and directors
"Springfield's Mpsycho Wanted" TV special
Insight from James L. Brooks
The Simpsons Airplane featurette
Who Shot Mr. Burns suspect gallery
Original sketches
Multi-angle animation showcases
Illustrated commentaries
Deleted scenes
Commercials
Special language features and more!

Language:
English 5.1 Dolby Digital
Spanish Stereo
French Stereo

Full Screen Aspect Ratio 1.33:1
Color/1994-1995/565 MINUTES Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Glenn Yates 5.0 out of 5 stars5 stars for season; minus a million points for packaging September 16, 2005Format: DVDVerified Purchase Minus a million points (said by Homer to Patty and Selma) may have been another season, but it summed up my feeling about the useless novelty package. I'm not going to jump off a bridge over it or anything, but it sure makes stacking your Simpson DVD's together much more difficult.

The negative aside, I know everyone has favorite seasons, favorite episodes, favorite catch phrases, as well as opinions on when (or if) the Simpson's had the jump the shark moment, so I'll try and avoid being too opinionated here. I will say this season had some greats for me. Grampa's Love Potion- which has a subplot of the kids trying to figure out what is going wrong with the adults- has always owned me. Homer as a sex offender, or at least an accused one, had a lot of great gags spiced with just the right amount of satirizing of modern society. Personally I even liked the "who shot mr. burns" episode(s), which seems to rank low with a lot of people. The songs- as always- hard to top.

In conclusion, while the novelty packaging fell flatter for me than Bart's factory- the season itself was our favorite family gold. The price seems fine, but don't ask me how the economy works. 5 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


P. Cvetic 5.0 out of 5 starspackaging sucks but I can live with paying the 3.00 August 24, 2005Format: DVDVerified Purchase I think the complaints on the box are warrented IF you have a problem with the 3.00 fee. But the insults are just a joke...I mean it is the Simpsons and not "Days of our Lives".

I would just say don't take the comments to heart. I will add I had a problem with cd case being off center making it hard to put it back in the "head case" but that was sovable but carefully removing it (the glue will not tear the paper) and putting it back on center.

I am going to pay the extra money for the CD case just because like a lot of you I feel this one is cheaply made....I will still keep the homer head.....

I gave the the set a five...I could maybe take one star off for the mishap of the box but not 3 or 4(I would think most fans only basing this on the eposides themselves a 4 at worse)

ANyway I love the Simpsons...really enjoyed slowing donwn the comments(one was "if you are reading this you have no life") on the Tabloid show that gives apologies to homer for the mistake in reporting him as a pervert along with other silly statments Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Zachary Piper 1.0 out of 5 starsDoesn't work for Blu-ray or Xbox August 17, 2019Format: DVDVerified Purchase If you have a regular dvd player this may run on it, but it won't run on Xbox or blu-ray player that I have. The discs weren't compatible. Also, the plastic sheets that held the disc's in place were broken and cracked. Would not recommend this product. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.



Customers also viewed these items

The Simpsons - The Complete Fifth Season collector's ed [DVD] [1993] byDan Castellaneta $51.75 4.7 out of 5 stars326 The Simpsons - The Complete Eighth Season byDan Castellaneta 4.6 out of 5 stars248 The Simpsons: Season 4 byJon Lovitz $78.81 4.6 out of 5 stars338 The Simpsons: Season 10 Collector's Edition (2007) byDan Castellaneta 4.7 out of 5 stars205 The Simpsons: Season 1 byRon Taylor $60.99 4.4 out of 5 stars779
Need customer service? Click hereSee all details for The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD]

There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime.

Get fast, free delivery with Amazon Prime Prime members enjoy FREE Two-Day Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. > Get started Back to top Get to Know Us Make Money with Us Amazon Payment Products Let Us Help You
    EnglishChoose a language for shopping. United StatesChoose a country/region for shopping.
      Amazon Music
      Stream millions
      of songs
      Amazon Advertising
      Find, attract, and
      engage customers
      Amazon Drive
      Cloud storage
      from Amazon
      6pm
      Score deals
      on fashion brands
      AbeBooks
      Books, art
      & collectibles
      ACX
      Audiobook Publishing
      Made Easy
      Alexa
      Actionable Analytics
      for the Web
      Sell on Amazon
      Start a Selling Account
      Amazon Business
      Everything For
      Your Business
      AmazonFresh
      Groceries & More
      Right To Your Door
      AmazonGlobal
      Ship Orders
      Internationally
      Home Services
      Handpicked Pros
      Happiness Guarantee
      Amazon Inspire
      Digital Educational
      Resources
      Amazon Rapids
      Fun stories for
      kids on the go
      Amazon Web Services
      Scalable Cloud
      Computing Services
      Audible
      Listen to Books & Original
      Audio Performances
      Book Depository
      Books With Free
      Delivery Worldwide
      Box Office Mojo
      Find Movie
      Box Office Data
      ComiXology
      Thousands of
      Digital Comics
      CreateSpace
      Indie Print Publishing
      Made Easy
      DPReview
      Digital
      Photography
      East Dane
      Designer Men's
      Fashion
      Fabric
      Sewing, Quilting
      & Knitting
      Goodreads
      Book reviews
      & recommendations
      IMDb
      Movies, TV
      & Celebrities
      IMDbPro
      Get Info Entertainment
      Professionals Need
      Kindle Direct Publishing
      Indie Digital Publishing
      Made Easy
      Prime Now
      FREE 2-hour Delivery
      on Everyday Items
      Amazon Photos
      Unlimited Photo Storage
      Free With Prime
      Prime Video Direct
      Video Distribution
      Made Easy
      Shopbop
      Designer
      Fashion Brands
      Amazon Warehouse
      Great Deals on
      Quality Used Products
      Whole Foods Market
      America’s Healthiest
      Grocery Store
      Woot!
      Deals and
      Shenanigans
      Zappos
      Shoes &
      Clothing
      Ring
      Smart Home
      Security Systems
      eero WiFi
      Stream 4K Video
      in Every Room
      Neighbors App
      Real-Time Crime
      & Safety Alerts
      Subscribe with Amazon
      Discover & try
      subscription services
      PillPack
      Pharmacy Simplified
      Amazon Renewed
      Like-new products
      you can trust
      Amazon Second Chance
      Pass it on, trade it in,
      give it a second life