This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Amazon.com: Customer reviews: How To Tame Your PhD (Thesis Whisperer Books Book 1)

Try Prime EN   Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Orders Try Prime Cart Best Sellers Gift Ideas New Releases Whole Foods Today's Deals AmazonBasics Coupons Gift Cards Customer Service Free Shipping Shopper Toolkit Registry Sell

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars 51 5 star 72% 4 star 14% 3 star 14% 2 star2 star (0%) 0% 1 star1 star (0%) 0%

How To Tame Your PhD (Thesis Whisperer Books Book 1)

byInger Mewburn Format: Kindle EditionChange Price:$5.99 Write a review See All Buying Options
Add to Wish List

Top positive review

See all 44 positive reviews General (2010) 5.0 out of 5 starsThe best I've read on the topic March 10, 2014 As the titile of the book states, How To Tame Your PhD (Thesis Whispere Books) the author skillfully communicated just that! Having read the book I feel more confident now in pursing a PhD. Writing about her experiences was a plus as she spared no bones in being open and candid with her audience, this was very comforting. The recommended references and software that she shared was also pricless. I will certainly read other books by this Author.

Thanks for sharing!! Read more

Top critical review

See all 7 critical reviews spauldingj 3.0 out of 5 starsA friendly read, but... January 12, 2019 The book is written in a manner such as if you were chatting with a friendly adviser or mentor. However, for all that it speaks of writing well, it doesn't follow suit. I found it to have many errors in the text. It honestly was as if I were reading a rushed final edit copy that still had the track changes function on. Read more
Search Sort by Top rated Filter by All reviewersAll starsAll formatsText, image, video Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(containing "read this book"). Clear filter

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

spauldingj 3.0 out of 5 starsA friendly read, but... January 12, 2019Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase The book is written in a manner such as if you were chatting with a friendly adviser or mentor. However, for all that it speaks of writing well, it doesn't follow suit. I found it to have many errors in the text. It honestly was as if I were reading a rushed final edit copy that still had the track changes function on. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


General (2010) 5.0 out of 5 starsThe best I've read on the topic March 10, 2014Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase As the titile of the book states, How To Tame Your PhD (Thesis Whispere Books) the author skillfully communicated just that! Having read the book I feel more confident now in pursing a PhD. Writing about her experiences was a plus as she spared no bones in being open and candid with her audience, this was very comforting. The recommended references and software that she shared was also pricless. I will certainly read other books by this Author.

Thanks for sharing!! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Leah MacVie 5.0 out of 5 starsstraight forward and helpful- August 12, 2014Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase This book is extremely straight forward, and that is what I like most about it. Mewburn not only affirmed much of the advice I have heard in bits and pieces along the way, but offered many new pointers as well. I bought this book in the Kindle version and read it on my phone, which I'll add, the book is nicely formatted for. I probably highlighted 50% of these pages. I can't wait to go back through to make note of them all. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Emily 5.0 out of 5 starsWhere has this been all my (academic) life?!? February 13, 2013Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase I had been reading the Thesis Whisperer blog for just a few weeks when I discovered there was also a book. I immediately purchased the book and read it on my iPad. I have been working on my thesis for a very, very long time and needed some help figuring out how to organize my thoughts and to take notes. This book proved to be immensely helpful and gave me enough inspiration and guidance that I started to get excited about finishing my project.

I would recommend this book to anyone working on any kind of large research project! There is so much that you don't learn in school that you have to somehow figure out on your own. This book will help you get your project done and will make you a better researcher and writer overall. One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


janek85 5.0 out of 5 starsHighly recommended for all researchers December 1, 2012Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase I cannot highly enough recommend either this book or the blog upon which it is based. Straightforward and practical advice, without getting bogged in technical jargon that makes a head spin. The suggestions on getting your writing done quickly and effectively, along with giving presentations, dealing with procrastination, and not falling into traps and pitfalls makes this the first book I would refer every new Research Student towards. The author is also very approachable, and I recommend getting in touch for further discussion, hints, and discussion on higher education news.

If only I had read it a month BEFORE I discontinued, rather than the other way round. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 starsFantastic book, highly recommended! December 26, 2012Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase I've been happily following the Thesis Whisperer blog for a few years while plodding away with my PhD. I found this book a fantastic summation of all of the best posts in one place. I read this book at a time where I was really struggling and it really helped with some practical advice to get me back on track and showed me that I'm not alone - others feel this way too! Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Luke Perez 4.0 out of 5 starsexcellent summary intro for aspiring and current doctoral students. January 8, 2014Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase Read this book before the others. So much of this is a distillation of what's out there already. As such, it preps you by explaining what you should be doing and thinking when in a phd program--and it points the way forward the more in depth works for the topics relevant to each reader. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


ThePerpetualStudent 5.0 out of 5 starsFun, light, and informative May 16, 2013Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase This is a short book culled from the thesiswhisperer website. Easy to read and filled with useful tidbits for graduate and PhD students. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Amy R. Vujaklija 4.0 out of 5 starsPractical and funny March 31, 2014Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase I appreciate the advice offered in this book. The informal blog style made it a quick read, necessary since it was my break from reading some dense texts. Readers should overlook the missed or double-typed words because they really do not detract from the main message. I intend to explore the blog posts that were the origin of this book. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


D. Hawley 5.0 out of 5 starsPractical and encouraging advice for PhD dissertation writers October 1, 2012Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase This short volume contains a wealth of information on the practical aspects of completing a PhD. I wish I had had this sort of support while writing my own PhD dissertation a few years back. But now I recommend my students to read the Thesis Whisper blog and I'll recommend them to buy this book as well. One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.



Customers also viewed these items

PhD: An uncommon guide to research, writing & PhD life byJames Hayton $8.69 4.1 out of 5 stars16 The Smart Way To Your Ph.D.:200 Secrets from 100 Graduates byDora Farkas $7.99 4.3 out of 5 stars27 The Unwritten Rules Of Phd Research (Open Up Study Skills) byMarian Petre $30.40 4.7 out of 5 stars18 The Professor Is In: The Essential Guide To Turning Your Ph.D. Into a Job byKaren Kelsky $12.99 4.6 out of 5 stars212 A PhD Is Not Enough!: A Guide to Survival in Science byPeter J. Feibelman $9.99 4.4 out of 5 stars111
Need customer service? Click hereSee all details for How To Tame Your PhD (Thesis Whisperer Books Book 1)

There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime.

Get fast, free shipping with Amazon Prime Prime members enjoy FREE Two-Day Shipping and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. > Get started Back to top Get to Know Us Make Money with Us Amazon Payment Products Let Us Help You
    EnglishChoose a language for shopping. United StatesChoose a country/region for shopping.
      Amazon Music
      Stream millions
      of songs
      Amazon Advertising
      Find, attract, and
      engage customers
      Amazon Drive
      Cloud storage
      from Amazon
      6pm
      Score deals
      on fashion brands
      AbeBooks
      Books, art
      & collectibles
      ACX
      Audiobook Publishing
      Made Easy
      Alexa
      Actionable Analytics
      for the Web
      Sell on Amazon
      Start a Selling Account
      Amazon Business
      Everything For
      Your Business
      AmazonFresh
      Groceries & More
      Right To Your Door
      AmazonGlobal
      Ship Orders
      Internationally
      Home Services
      Handpicked Pros
      Happiness Guarantee
      Amazon Inspire
      Digital Educational
      Resources
      Amazon Rapids
      Fun stories for
      kids on the go
      Amazon Restaurants
      Food delivery from
      local restaurants
      Amazon Web Services
      Scalable Cloud
      Computing Services
      Audible
      Listen to Books & Original
      Audio Performances Book Depository
      Books With Free
      Delivery Worldwide
      Box Office Mojo
      Find Movie
      Box Office Data
      ComiXology
      Thousands of
      Digital Comics
      CreateSpace
      Indie Print Publishing
      Made Easy
      DPReview
      Digital
      Photography
      East Dane
      Designer Men's
      Fashion
      Fabric
      Sewing, Quilting
      & Knitting
      Goodreads
      Book reviews
      & recommendations
      IMDb
      Movies, TV
      & Celebrities
      IMDbPro
      Get Info Entertainment
      Professionals Need
      Kindle Direct Publishing
      Indie Digital Publishing
      Made Easy
      Prime Now
      FREE 2-hour Delivery
      on Everyday Items
      Amazon Photos
      Unlimited Photo Storage
      Free With Prime
      Prime Video Direct
      Video Distribution
      Made Easy
      Shopbop
      Designer
      Fashion Brands
      Amazon Warehouse
      Great Deals on
      Quality Used Products
      Whole Foods Market
      America’s Healthiest
      Grocery Store
      Woot!
      Deals and
      Shenanigans
      Zappos
      Shoes &
      Clothing
      Ring
      Smart Home
      Security Systems
      eero WiFi
      Stream 4K Video
      in Every Room
      Neighbors App
      Real-Time Crime & Safety Alerts
      Subscribe with Amazon
      Discover & try
      subscription services
      PillPack
      Pharmacy Simplified
      Amazon Renewed
      Refurbished products
      with a warranty
      Amazon Second Chance
      Pass it on, trade it in,
      give it a second life