This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Amazon.com: Customer reviews: The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

Try Prime EN   Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Orders Try Prime Cart Best Sellers Gift Ideas New Releases Whole Foods Today's Deals AmazonBasics Coupons Gift Cards Customer Service Free Shipping Shopper Toolkit Registry Sell

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars 200 customer ratings 5 star 81% 4 star 10% 3 star 6% 2 star 1% 1 star 2%

The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

byDan Castellaneta Format: DVDChange Price:$51.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime Write a review Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Top positive review

See all 180 positive reviews elizabeth nolan 5.0 out of 5 starsI never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes February 28, 2017 I see every season after season 8 separate, mainly because I have the guide with the first eight seasons. There's been a lot of talk about declining quality with the Simpsons but up until this current season, season 28, I never found a completely horrible one. This season has some great episodes. Homer and the family go to New York city to retrieve the car and everything goes wrong (at least for Homer), Lisa and bart are chosen to be on a news show (and Homer wants a duck for his monkey), we hear how Lisa got her sax (and about the funky grampa), Homer wages a war with the garbage men (and rattles a few bird cages) and Marge and Homer try to rekindle their sex life (and rock the casbah in the craziest of ways). Once again, we have another great season of the Simpsons. Read more 3 people found this helpful

Top critical review

See all 19 critical reviews Ben 3.0 out of 5 starsOkay December 26, 2018 All of the discs had areas where the content skipped on occasion. "Simpson Tide" on Disc 3 was most impacted, as roughly half of the episode was unable to play. The majority of the content on the set was fine, though. Read more
Search Sort by Top rated Filter by All reviewers3 star onlyAll formatsText, image, video Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(3 star). Clear filter

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ben 3.0 out of 5 starsOkay December 26, 2018Format: DVDVerified Purchase All of the discs had areas where the content skipped on occasion. "Simpson Tide" on Disc 3 was most impacted, as roughly half of the episode was unable to play. The majority of the content on the set was fine, though. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Maria 3.0 out of 5 starsOK January 9, 2019Format: DVDVerified Purchase OK Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Tom C. 3.0 out of 5 starsStill Simpsons March 21, 2016Format: DVDVerified Purchase Little less meaningful and not as intelligent as the earlier seasons, but ok One person found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Sungkweon Nam 3.0 out of 5 starsa lanauage option, no "play all" function. January 13, 2009Format: DVDVerified Purchase The product description noted many lanauges available in audio but it was not when played. There is no "play all" option so I had to bother to click every time an episode ends. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


jgarcia 3.0 out of 5 starsThe End December 13, 2006Format: DVDVerified Purchase I feel that Season 8 was incredible while Season 9 is far less entertaining. The dropoff is enormous. Stick to Seasons 1 through 8. Season 9 is the beginning of the end for this highly successful show. 11 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Myranda 3.0 out of 5 starsLeast favorite season so far. December 16, 2015Format: DVD I remember all these episodes from when I was a kid and thought that maybe I'd find it even funnier now, being old enough to understand more jokes and... Ehh. I laughed a few times, but there were no episodes that I thought were excellent as a whole. I watched all four discs in two days and was actually a bit bored... And I LOVE the Simpsons... But I guess I only love seasons 2-8. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Spiral_Carpet 3.0 out of 5 starsThey should have stopped at seasons 7 or 8...but this season isn't horrible September 5, 2009Format: DVD The Simpsons started one of the first adult yet all-age cartoons that had moral teachings, humor and relatable characters all carried within a unique reflection of the American middle class family. The characters and environments are created in a very surreal yet very realistic way like no other cartoon or even comic book series before. The show spawned 8 awesome seasons that took animation and American pop culture to different heights. However the mild profanity, moral stories and Springfield world started to get tame and dry by the 8th season and wasn't used as creatively as in the previous 7 seasons. Some say it was that the creators ran out of ideas or it could have been the time era that made it dated, as cartoons around the same time as this season such as Duckman, South Park, and later on Family Guy were taking over with more progressive, creative and entertaining storylines and content than the Simpsons. By this time the show wasn't as powerful as it had been in the early 90's, neither had it been dreadful, but definitely not the most popular show anymore. Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


cthulhuian 3.0 out of 5 starsThe series is going downhill, but it is still The Simpsons January 27, 2007Format: DVD I must agree with others that the show really starts to slip in season Nine. The writing often gets very lazy and more formulaic, and the animation is now uninspired. When watching this season, at the time it was broadcast, I remember thinking that for the first time that some shows were actually kinda bad, which was sad... but still there are many fine moments. I found the episodes with Priniciple Skinner, Lisa's Sax, and Moe dating to be quite bad, and the Apu running lame storyline kinda stupid and kinda racist. The Burns Trillion dollar and the X-mas episode to be very inferior to previous similar episodes. Homer in the navy is such lazy writing, I guess trying to maintain the Conan legacy of absurdity.

To keep buying these sets? Or not? Maybe you should stop at 8. Or not. 6 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


Relampago 3.0 out of 5 starsPast its peak February 6, 2007Format: DVD Don't get me wrong, there are several really good episodes in the Ninth Season. Even at its worst The Simpsons is better than most of the drivel that gets put on TV anyway.

My least favorite episode on this set would have to be The Principal and the Pauper. After watching that episode I knew the inevitable downhill slide for this series had begun.

In many places, it felt like the writers were trying too hard, or in some cases not trying hard enough, and they started with a few story ideas that weren't all that great to begin with. In any case, the finely tuned situations, impeccable timing, spot-on delivery, and humor from the previous seasons is often lost. The series feels off-kilter in a number of ways.

There are a lot of cracks that begin to show up in construction of these episodes. First, a lot of the writing is subpar. The animation also begins to suffer. And a lot of the dialogue seems forced, as if the actors no longer care as much about their product, they're just there for the paycheck.

Now, that being said, there are a number of real gems in this set, including: Realty Bites, Trash of the Titans, The City of New York vs. Homer Simpson, and Bart Carny.

Overall, I'd say its still worth purchasing, but as the quality of this series goes downhill starting here with the Ninth Season, let's hope the $40 entry fee will also start to go down a little, too. This is the first time I've bought a Simpsons DVD set that left a hint of a bad taste in my mouth. 14 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.


J. Curnow 3.0 out of 5 starsNot bad, but not great July 21, 2007Format: DVD [...]

Many people try to say that The Simpson's quality has declined right around Season 10 or so, and I personally believe that the decline was introduced around Season 8 or 9. Some of the episodes in this boxed set are pretty weak, however, there ARE some that are really funny. The ratio(good episodes to bad episodes), I personally think with this boxed set, is not really worth the money unless you are a big fan of the Simpsons or you collect them. There seem to be more not-so-funny boring episodes than there are entertaining/funny episodes, and it is obvious that the Simpson's series starts to somewhat decline right around this season. 4 people found this helpful Helpful Report abuse Comment

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.



Customers also viewed these items

The Simpsons - The Complete Eighth Season byDan Castellaneta 4.6 out of 5 stars248 The Simpsons: Season 1 bySimpsons $60.99 4.4 out of 5 stars779 The Simpsons: Season 10 Collector's Edition (2007) byDan Castellaneta $10.92 4.7 out of 5 stars205 The Simpsons - The Complete Fifth Season collector's ed [DVD] [1993] byDan Castellaneta $39.34 4.7 out of 5 stars326 The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] byNancy Cartwright (Voice) $10.92 4.4 out of 5 stars529
Need customer service? Click hereSee all details for The Simpsons - The Complete Ninth Season

There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime.

Get fast, free delivery with Amazon Prime Prime members enjoy FREE Two-Day Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. > Get started Back to top Get to Know Us Make Money with Us Amazon Payment Products Let Us Help You
    EnglishChoose a language for shopping. United StatesChoose a country/region for shopping.
      Amazon Music
      Stream millions
      of songs
      Amazon Advertising
      Find, attract, and
      engage customers
      Amazon Drive
      Cloud storage
      from Amazon
      6pm
      Score deals
      on fashion brands
      AbeBooks
      Books, art
      & collectibles
      ACX
      Audiobook Publishing
      Made Easy
      Alexa
      Actionable Analytics
      for the Web
      Sell on Amazon
      Start a Selling Account
      Amazon Business
      Everything For
      Your Business
      AmazonFresh
      Groceries & More
      Right To Your Door
      AmazonGlobal
      Ship Orders
      Internationally
      Home Services
      Handpicked Pros
      Happiness Guarantee
      Amazon Inspire
      Digital Educational
      Resources
      Amazon Rapids
      Fun stories for
      kids on the go
      Amazon Web Services
      Scalable Cloud
      Computing Services
      Audible
      Listen to Books & Original
      Audio Performances
      Book Depository
      Books With Free
      Delivery Worldwide
      Box Office Mojo
      Find Movie
      Box Office Data
      ComiXology
      Thousands of
      Digital Comics
      CreateSpace
      Indie Print Publishing
      Made Easy
      DPReview
      Digital
      Photography
      East Dane
      Designer Men's
      Fashion
      Fabric
      Sewing, Quilting
      & Knitting
      Goodreads
      Book reviews
      & recommendations
      IMDb
      Movies, TV
      & Celebrities
      IMDbPro
      Get Info Entertainment
      Professionals Need
      Kindle Direct Publishing
      Indie Digital Publishing
      Made Easy
      Prime Now
      FREE 2-hour Delivery
      on Everyday Items
      Amazon Photos
      Unlimited Photo Storage
      Free With Prime
      Prime Video Direct
      Video Distribution
      Made Easy
      Shopbop
      Designer
      Fashion Brands
      Amazon Warehouse
      Great Deals on
      Quality Used Products
      Whole Foods Market
      America’s Healthiest
      Grocery Store
      Woot!
      Deals and
      Shenanigans
      Zappos
      Shoes &
      Clothing
      Ring
      Smart Home
      Security Systems
      eero WiFi
      Stream 4K Video
      in Every Room
      Neighbors App
      Real-Time Crime
      & Safety Alerts
      Subscribe with Amazon
      Discover & try
      subscription services
      PillPack
      Pharmacy Simplified
      Amazon Renewed
      Like-new products
      you can trust
      Amazon Second Chance
      Pass it on, trade it in,
      give it a second life