This website does readability filtering of other pages. All styles, scripts, forms and ads are stripped. If you want your website excluded or have other feedback, use this form.

Toulon 14-19 Castres: Castres upset Toulon for Top 14 glory | Live Rugby Match Pack | ESPN Scrum

Menu

ESPN

Toulon 14-19 Castres, Top 14 Final, Stade de France, June 1 Castres upset Toulon for Top 14 glory ESPN Staff June 1, 2013 Report Gallery Date/Time: Jun 1, 2013, 21:00 local, 19:00 GMT Venue: Stade de France, Paris Toulon 14 - 19 Castres Castres celebrate with the Bouclier de Brennus following their triumph at the Stade de France
© Getty Images Enlarge Related Links Features: Usual suspects set to lead title chase News: Wilkinson keen for Lions call-up Features: Wilko and Toulon target rare double Matches: Toulon 14 - 19 Castres

Castres claimed their first French title for 20 years with a 19-14 upset of Toulon in the Top 14 finale at the Stade de France on Saturday night.

Scrum-half Rory Kockott grabbed a crucial first half try and kicked eight points to propel Castres to their first French title since 1993. Fly-half Remi Tales added two late drop goals to set the seal on the victory and ensure a winning send-off for coaches Laurent Travers and Laurent Labit who will leave the club to take charge of French rivals Racing Metro next season.

Jonny Wilkinson kicked three penalties for Toulon but missed three others and a conversion as his side came up agonisingly short for the second season in-a-row having been beaten by Toulouse in last year's final. Fullback Delon Armitage grabbed a late try but it was not enough to clinch a rare Heineken Cup-Top 14 double with the big-spending club having clinched European club rugby's top prize two weeks ago.

Wilkinson notched the first points of a largely disappointing half but his opening effort was soon cancelled out by Kockott. The South African-born No.9 edged his side ahead just before the break with a rare moment of ingenuity catching the Toulon defence asleep and he added the conversion to give his side a 10-3 at half-time.

Toulon began the second half brightly and were rewarded with a second Wilkinson penalty and the former England playmaker made it a one-point game just past the hour mark to raise hopes of a first title for his side since 1992.

But Tales' 72nd-minute drop goal gave Castres some precious breathing room and they closed in on a famous triumph when he repeated the feat just four minutes later. Kockott put the result beyond doubt with a 40-metre penalty with the clock running down and Armitage's score proved to be no more than a consolation.

Castres scrum-half Rory Kockott celebrates scoring his crucial first half try © Getty Images Enlarge © ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - British GP

    British Grand Prix July 17-19 July 17: Free practice 1
    11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT
    July 17: Free practice 2
    15:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT
    July 18: Free practice 3
    12:00 local | 11:00 GMT | 07:00 EDT
    July 18: Qualifying
    15:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT
    July 19: Race
    15:10 local | 14:10 GMT | 10:10 EDT
  • ESPNOtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open

CLOSE

ABOUT COOKIES

To help make this website better, to improve and personalize your experience and for advertising purposes, are you happy to accept cookies and other technologies.

More Info Here Cookie Choices